The Underworld Movies in Order – Timeline Explained + Future Movies

The Underworld franchise is still going strong nearly a decade since the first film premiered. The popularity of this popular horror series has been maintained by its devoted fan base.

However, as the narrative expanded to five movies and jumped in time somewhat, some clarification of the complete timeline may be desirable.

The film series chronicles an ancient rivalry between vampires and werewolves known as the Lycans. Selene, a vampire, is committed to fighting for this conflict since her entire family was massacred by Lycans. Despite everything, Selene is in love with a Lycan named Michael.

Meanwhile, they’re still involved in the battle around them. The war between species is continued in the film series. Selene and Michael both undergo hybridization throughout the series, which spurs both races to pursue them.

With the help of some new friends, Michael and Selene must face increasingly difficult circumstances. They slowly discover dark secrets about both their species as they are pushed to stand alone. Selene is ultimately abandoned by Michael, but she will not give up until justice prevails throughout the world.

Underworld Movies As Per Release Order

  • Underworld (2003)
  • Underworld: Evolution (2006)
  • Underworld: Rise of the Lycans (2009)
  • Underworld: Endless War (2011)
  • Underworld: Awakening (2012)
  • Underworld: Blood Wars (2016)

The Underworld series is presented in chronological order for the second time. The only distinction is that, unlike the production sequence, Underworld: Rise of the Lycans becomes the first film in the franchise.

  • Underworld: Rise of the Lycans (2009)
  • Underworld (2003)
  • Underworld: Evolution (2006)
  • Underworld: Endless War (2011)
  • Underworld: Awakening (2012)
  • Underworld: Blood Wars (2016)

Underworld: Rise Of The Lycans (2009)

Underworld: Rise of the Lycans is a prequel to the first two films, and it was the first and only time that Kate Beckinsale quit the franchise. The species’ origin is traced back to ancient times.

The film chronicles Lucian’s childhood. He is raised by the vampire elder Viktor, who aspires to have the boy’s species work for vampires one day. Lucian matures and falls in love with Viktor’s daughter Sonja, and they begin a covert relationship.

Viktor learns that his daughter has been imprisoned because she is in a relationship with a Lycan, and he becomes furious. He is enraged to learn that his daughter is expecting a Lycan child. Lucian’s animosity towards vampires stems from Sonja’s death in the first film, as well as the millennia-old war between vampires and Lycans.

Underworld: Rise of the Lycans comes full circle with a shot of Selene, who was not featured in this prequel, as she learns about the events that drive her against her people.

Underworld (2003)

The first Underworld film is set in the 21st century. It focuses on Selene, a vampire who’s part of a secret society that hunts down and kills werewolves. She meets Michael Corvin, a human doctor who is bitten by a werewolf and slowly becomes one of them.

As Selene starts to fall for Michael, she begins to question her own motivations. She starts to wonder why she’s fighting for a cause that doesn’t seem just anymore. This film sets up the conflict between Selene and the Lycans, as well as Michael’s place in all of this.

Underworld: Evolution (2006)

The second Underworld film picks up where the first one left off. Selene and Michael are on the run from the vampire elders. They’re trying to figure out why they’re being hunted and what, if anything, they can do about it.

As they uncover more about their own history, they realize that they may be the only ones who can stop the impending war between vampires and werewolves. This film introduces Marcus, a vampire elder who is revealed to be Selene’s father. It also sets up the final confrontation between Selene and the Lycans.

Underworld: Endless War (2011)

The third Underworld film is a direct-to-video release. It focuses on Selene and Michael as they try to stop the war between vampires and werewolves. They’re joined by Marcus, who is revealed to be Selene’s father.

This film introduces a new character, Eve, who is revealed to be Selene and Michael’s daughter. It also sets up the fourth Underworld film, which would focus on her character.

Underworld: Awakening (2012)

The fourth Underworld film is set in the future. Selene has been captured by humans and is being experimented on. She escapes and tries to find her daughter, Eve.

As she’s searching for her, she discovers that the war between vampires and werewolves has escalated. She also learns that she may be the only one who can stop it.

Underworld: Blood Wars (2016)

The fifth Underworld film is set in the present day. Selene is on the run from both vampires and werewolves. She’s trying to find a way to end the war between them.

As she’s searching for a way to end the war, she’s also being hunted by vampires and werewolves. This film introduces a new character, Marius, who is a Lycan leader. It also sets up the sixth Underworld film, which is currently in development.

Short Film (Animated)

Underworld: Endless War (2011)

The 2011 animated film Underworld: Endless War consists of three short films that begin in 1890 and lead up to the events of Underworld: Awakening. Selene is searching for a band of three lycan brothers in three distinct time periods throughout the film.

Video Game

Underworld: The Eternal War

The game was first released in 2004 as Underworld: The Game (also known as Underworld: The Eternal War), and it is based on the action movie of the same name, which was released in 2003.

The narrative focuses on the timeless struggle between vampires and werewolves, and as the player, they may team with either side. The player can select Selene (the vampire) or Raze (the lycan) as the film’s main character, along with a variety of other vampires, lycans, or hybrids.

While some games might be fun, they are not without their drawbacks. For example, despite its amazing graphics and gameplay, it is not an open-world game. Instead, you are restricted to pre-determined locations where you must accomplish goals such as protecting someone or killing others. The player kills opposing fighters throughout the action-based play with a variety of weapons at their disposal, including guns, knives, and other sharp objects.

It also includes a multiplayer mode in which players can compete against each other in team-based objectives or in a free-for-all deathmatch.

Read More

Scroll to Top