Fantastic Beasts Movies in Order [Timeline With Harry Potter Explained]

The Fantastic Beasts movie series is a prequel to the Harry Potter series. The first movie, Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them, was released in 2016. The second movie, Fantastic Beasts: The Crimes of Grindelwald, was released in 2018. A third movie has been released recently.

Fantastic Beasts Movies in Order of Release

  • Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them (2016)
  • Fantastic Beasts: The Crimes of Grindelwald (2018)
  • Fantastic Beasts: The Secrets of Dumbledore (2022)

Note: Pikashow alternative for Streaming Movies and TV Shows

The Fantastic Beasts movies follow Newt Scamander (Eddie Redmayne), a magizoologist who studies magical creatures. In the first movie, Newt travels to New York City, where he meets Jacob Kowalski (Dan Fogler), a muggle (non-magical person). Together, they must stop the escape of some of Newt’s magical creatures.

In the second movie, Newt and Jacob team up with Albus Dumbledore (Jude Law) to stop the evil wizard Grindelwald (Johnny Depp).

In the third film, Albus Dumbledore, the powerful and dark wizard Gellert Grindelwald’s mentor, knows that he is coming to take control of the wizarding world. A young Grindelwald, desperate for power and eager to cure Mendel’s illness, crafts a pair of dark glasses that allow him to unleash an unholy storm of horrors on the world. Unable to stop him alone, he entrusts magizoologist Newt Scamander to command an intrepid group of wizards and witches. As the sisters’ journey continues, they soon come up against a plethora of old and new creatures as they battle Grindelwald’s increasing army of supporters.

Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them (2016)

  • Director: David Yates
  • Runtime: 2h 13m

Fantastic Beasts, and Where to Find Them is a spin-off and prequel to the Harry Potter film series. It transports us to a new world in J.K. Rowling’s Wizarding World, decades before Harry Potter and half of the globe are born.

In New York in 1926, something frightening wrought destruction, posing a significant risk of exposure for the witch community. And black magician Gellert Grindelwald caused a lot of damage in Europe before disappearing.

Newt Scamander arrives in town at the end of a global expedition to explore and save magical creatures. Some of these creatures are protected in his unwritten leather bag.

Jacob Kowalski, the clueless No-Maj, releases Newt’s creatures in town — a serious violation of the Privacy Statement that Tina Goldstein eagerly took advantage of to regain her job as an Auror. However, when Percival Graves, the enigmatic Head of Magical Security, makes his allegations about Newt and Tina, everything changes dramatically.

Tina’s sister Queenie, Newt and Tina’s collaborator Jacob, and Newt’s other collaborator Tina join forces to save Newt’s lost creatures.

Fantastic Beasts: The Crimes of Grindelwald (2018)

  • Director: David Yates
  • Runtime: 2h 14m

The highly anticipated sequel to 2016’s Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them, Fantastic Beasts: The Crimes of Grindelwald finds magizoologist Newt Scamander (Eddie Redmayne) recruited by his former teacher Albus Dumbledore (Jude Law) to help stop the evil wizard Gellert Grindelwald (Johnny Depp).

Grindelwald has escaped custody and is gathering followers, most unsuspecting of his true agenda: to raise pure-blood wizards up to rule over all non-magical beings.

In an effort to thwart Grindelwald’s plans, Newt seeks out his former flame Leta Lestrange (Zoë Kravitz). However, their reunion is far from cordial. Meanwhile, across the Atlantic, Albus Dumbledore enlists his former student Newt Scamander to help thwart the evil wizard Gellert Grindelwald. However, Grindelwald’s powers are growing, and Dumbledore will need all the help he can get to defeat him.

Fantastic Beasts: The Peverell Quest (TBA)

  • Director: David Yates
  • Runtime: 2h 23m

Fantastic Beasts: The Crimes of Grindelwald is the second part in the Fantastic Beasts film series, which began in the 1930s and focuses on the Wizarding World’s involvement in World War II. Brazil, the United States, and the United Kingdom are among the designated countries.

As Grindelwald’s influence grew, Albus Dumbledore assigned Newt Scamander and his allies the responsibility of opposing Grindelwald’s army and persuading Dumbledore to assess how long he would be away from the next fight.

The Marvel Cinematic Universe will continue to expand and become even more popular. The film series has established a large following and potential, with a lot of possibility remaining.

Which comes first, Fantastic Beasts or Harry Potter?

It is the first in a series of films based on J.K. Rowling’s Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them, which serves as a prequel to the Wizarding World franchise, inspired by a handbook with the same name published in 2001.

Harry Potter & Fantastic Beasts Movies In Chronological Order

  • 1926: Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them (2016)
  • 1927: Fantastic Beasts: The Crimes of Grindelwald (2018)
  • 1937: Fantastic Beasts: The Secrets of Dumbledore (2022)
  • 1991-92: Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone (2001)
  • 1992-93: Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets (2002)
  • 1993-94: Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban (2004)
  • 1994-95: Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire (2005)
  • 1995-96: Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix (2007)
  • 1996-97: Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince (2009)
  • 1997-98: Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows: Part 1 (2010)
  • 1998: Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows: Part 2 (2011)

Read More:

Scroll to Top