How to Watch Oceans Movies in Order   

Oceans movies in order

The “Ocean’s” movie series is a set of heist films that follow the story of Danny Ocean and his team of skilled criminals as they plan and execute elaborate robberies. The primary themes of the series include the excitement and thrill of pulling off a successful heist, the camaraderie and loyalty among the members of the criminal team, and the themes of redemption and second chances.

The first film in the series, “Ocean’s Eleven,” was released in 2001 and starred George Clooney, Brad Pitt, and Matt Damon. The film was a critical and commercial success and launched a franchise that has since produced two sequels and a spin-off film.

People love the “Ocean’s” movies for their smart and witty dialogue, the star-studded cast, and the fast-paced, exciting heist scenes. The series has become popular due to its unique blend of humor, action, and suspense, as well as its focus on strong characters and intricate plot twists.

Some other interesting facts about the “Ocean’s” movie series include the fact that the films are loosely based on the 1960 Rat Pack film “Ocean’s 11,” and that the franchise has earned over $1 billion worldwide. The franchise has also been praised for its diverse cast, with each film featuring a mix of talented actors from different backgrounds and ethnicities.

1. Ocean’s Eleven (2001)

Ocean’s Eleven (2001) is a heist movie directed by Steven Soderbergh. The film follows a group of 11 thieves, led by Danny Ocean (George Clooney), as they plan and execute a heist to rob three Las Vegas casinos owned by Terry Benedict (Andy Garcia). The film also features an all-star cast including Brad Pitt, Matt Damon, and Julia Roberts, each of whom play members of the heist team. The primary themes of the movie include teamwork, friendship, and loyalty.

Ocean’s Eleven is a fun and stylish crime caper that’s backed by a talented cast and a sharp script. The film’s plot is full of twists and turns that keep audiences engaged, and the dialogue is snappy and full of wit. People love Ocean’s Eleven for its fast-paced, stylish and well-crafted heist plot, along with its all-star cast, who bring their A-game to their performances.

2. Ocean’s Twelve (2004)

Ocean’s Twelve (2004) is the sequel to Ocean’s Eleven, and picks up where the first film left off. Danny Ocean and his team of thieves have been forced to leave the country to avoid arrest, and they’re now based in Europe. When they learn that Terry Benedict is still after them, they decide to pull off another heist. The film takes the team to several European cities as they plan and execute their latest caper.

Ocean’s Twelve continues the series’ trend of stylish and well-crafted heist plots, with a fast-paced and entertaining storyline. The film’s cast is once again top-notch, with each of the main players delivering strong performances. The film’s humor, style, and character interactions are what keep audiences engaged and entertained.

3. Ocean’s Thirteen (2007)

The third installment of the “Ocean’s” franchise, “Ocean’s Thirteen” sees Danny Ocean (George Clooney) and his team of thieves attempt to right a wrong by taking down a ruthless businessman (Al Pacino) who has wronged one of their own. With a star-studded cast, elaborate heists, and plenty of twists and turns, “Ocean’s Thirteen” is a fun, fast-paced romp that offers more of the same heist-filled excitement as the previous films in the series.

4. Ocean’s 8 (2018)

“Ocean’s 8” is a spin-off of the “Ocean’s” franchise that follows Debbie Ocean (Sandra Bullock), Danny’s estranged sister, as she assembles a team of women to pull off a heist at the annual Met Gala. With a talented ensemble cast and a clever heist storyline, “Ocean’s 8” provides a fresh take on the “Ocean’s” franchise, offering plenty of humor, action, and suspense along the way.

Here are the IMDb ratings and Rotten Tomatoes scores for the “Ocean’s” movie series:

MovieIMDb ratingRotten Tomatoes score
Ocean’s Eleven (2001)7.8/1083%
Ocean’s Twelve (2004)6.5/1052%
Ocean’s Thirteen (2007)6.9/1064%
Ocean’s 8 (2018)6.2/1075%


Frequently asked questions about oceans movie series

Q. In what order should you watch the “Ocean’s” movies?

A. The recommended viewing order of the “Ocean’s” movie series is: “Ocean’s Eleven” (2001), “Ocean’s Twelve” (2004), and “Ocean’s Thirteen” (2007), followed by “Ocean’s 8” (2018), which is a spin-off film.

Q. Is “Ocean’s Eleven” the first one in the series?

A. Yes, “Ocean’s Eleven” (2001) is the first movie in the “Ocean’s” movie series.

Q. How many “Ocean’s” movies have been made?

A. Four “Ocean’s” movies have been made, including “Ocean’s Eleven” (2001), “Ocean’s Twelve” (2004), “Ocean’s Thirteen” (2007), and “Ocean’s 8” (2018).

Q. Is there an “Ocean’s 12” after “Ocean’s 11”?

A. Yes, “Ocean’s Twelve” (2004) is the second movie in the series and is a direct sequel to “Ocean’s Eleven” (2001).

Q. Why didn’t they make an “Ocean’s 14”?

A. There is no official statement on why a fourth sequel, “Ocean’s 14,” has not been made. It could be due to various reasons such as budget constraints, lack of a compelling story, or simply the filmmakers and actors moving on to other projects.

Scroll to Top