Thor Movies in Order – How To Watch Thor Movies In Chronological Order

The Thor movie series is a set of American superhero films based on the Marvel Comics character Thor, produced by Marvel Studios and distributed by Walt Disney Studios Motion Pictures. The series has consisted of three films, Thor (2011), Thor: The Dark World (2013), and Thor: Ragnarok (2017), with a fourth film, Thor: Love and Thunder (upcoming)

The series has been a box office success, with the films earning over $950 million at the global box office. Critical reception to the films has been mixed, but they have been generally praised for their visuals and action sequences.

Thor Movies In Chronological Order

  • Thor (Before Avengers but never specified) (2011)
  • Thor: The Dark World (After Avengers/before Ultron) (2013)
  • Thor: Ragnarok (After Ultron/before Infinity War) (2017)
  • Thor: Love and Thunder (2022)

The Ratings and Where to Stream

MoviesIMDbRotten TomatoesWhere to Stream
Thor (2011)7/1077%Disney Plus, Apple TV, YouTube (Buy or Rent)
Thor: The Dark World (2013)6.8/1066%Disney Plus, Apple TV, YouTube (Buy or Rent)
Thor: Ragnarok (2017)7.9/1093%Disney Plus, Apple TV, YouTube (Buy or Rent)

Thor (2011)

Directed by Kenneth Branagh, the film stars Chris Hemsworth as Thor, a powerful but arrogant warrior whose reckless actions reignite an ancient war. Thor is cast out of Asgard to live amongst humans on Earth, where he learns what it takes to be a true hero.

Thor: The Dark World (2013)

In Thor: The Dark World, thor teams up with his brother Loki to save the Nine Realms from the vengeful Malekith. The film was directed by Alan Taylor and stars Chris Hemsworth, Tom Hiddleston, Natalie Portman, Idris Elba, Stellan Skarsgård, Christopher Eccleston, Adewale Akinnuoye-Agbaje, Kat Dennings, Ray Stevenson, and Zachary Levi.

Thor: Ragnarok (2017)

In Thor: Ragnarok, thor must prevent the all-powerful Hela from destroying Asgard. The film was directed by Taika Waititi and stars Chris Hemsworth, Tom Hiddleston, Cate Blanchett, Idris Elba, Jeff Goldblum, Tessa Thompson, Karl Urban, Mark Ruffalo, and Anthony Hopkins.

Thor: Love and Thunder (2022)

The fourth Thor film is scheduled to be released in July 2022. It will be directed by Taika Waititi and stars Chris Hemsworth, Tessa Thompson, and Natalie Portman. The plot is currently unknown.

Thor  With Marvel Avenger Movies In Order Chronologically

  • Captain America: The First Avenger (Set during WWII)
  • Captain Marvel (Set in 1995)
  • Iron Man (Set in 2010)
  • Iron Man 2 (Set after Iron Man)
  • The Incredible Hulk (Before Avenger/NA)
  • Thor (Before Avengers/NA)
  • The Avengers (Set in 2012)
  • Iron Man 3 (Set six months after The Avengers)
  • Thor: Dark World (Set after Avengers/before Ultron)
  • Captain America: Winter Soldier (Set after Avengers)
  • Guardians of the Galaxy (Set in 2014)
  • Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2 (Set after Guardians 1)
  • Avengers: Age of Ultron (Set in 2015)
  • Ant-Man (Set in 2015)
  • Captain America: Civil War (After Ultron/before IW)
  • Black Widow (Right After Civil War)
  • Spider-Man: Homecoming (Set after Civil War/before IW)
  • Doctor Strange (Set in 2016)
  • Black Panther (Set in 2017)
  • Thor: Ragnarok (Set after Ultron/before IW)
  • Avengers: Infinity War (Set in 2017)
  • Ant-Man and The Wasp (Set between IW and Endgame)
  • Avengers: Endgame (Set in 2017-2022)
  • Spider-Man: Far From Home (Set after-Endgame)
  • Shang-Chi and the Legend of the Ten Rings (Present Day of MCU/2022)
  • Eternals (Present Day of MCU/2022)
  • Spider-Man: No Way Home (Present Day of MCU/2022)


Is Thor being replaced in love and thunder?

Thor is not being replaced in love and thunder.

This was made very clear by Taika Waititi himself in an interview with entertainment weekly. Thor is a key part of the movie and will continue to be played by Chris Hemsworth. there are no plans to replace him. Thor: Love and Thunder is currently set for a 2022 release date.

Scroll to Top